The Society sponsors the Abbie Clancy Award, named after Abigail Mary Clancy (1898-1984), one of the founders of the Society of Women Writers and a prominent early 20th-century journalist.

This bursary of $1,000 is awarded annually and is open to female honours and post-graduate students attending universities in New South Wales. Entrants for the Award must submit an abstract (300-500 words) of an unpublished research paper on the published or unpublished work(s) of fiction or non-fiction of an Australian woman writer or journalist.

For Information and Entry Form CLICK HERE

2022 Abbie Clancy Award - to be announced on 9 March 2022 at Society's literary event to be held in the Dixson Room, Mitchell Library, State Library of NSW. 


2021 Deborah FitzGerald - Dorothea Mackellar:  Whose Country?

2020 Sarah Pope - To Be and Be Seen: Alice Jane Muskett (1869–1936) and the ‘Role of the One Who Looks On’.

2018 Cheryl O'Byrne - Betwixt and Between: Rereading Poppy as Autofiction

2017 Katrina Foster

2016 Meg Brayshaw

2015 Isobel Barrett Meyering

2013 Claire Timbs and Claire Nashar - awarded jointly

2011 No award given.