ENTRIES HAVE CLOSED for the 2018 SWW Book Awards.

The next SWW Book Awards for Members of the Society of Women Writers NSW will now be held in 2020, for books published between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2020.

Every second year, members are invited to submit books published over the previous two years. Separate awards are given for fiction, non-fiction, poetry and children’s books. Two Children’s Book Awards may be given – one for a book for younger readers, and one for an adolescent/young adult book.



  • First Prize: Rosalind Meyer (Rosie's War)
  • Second Prize: Susan P Ramage (Kokoda Secret: Ian Hutchison, Australian Hero)
  • Third Prize: Sue Castrique (Under the Colony's Eye)
  • Highly Commended: Ann Howard (You'll be sorry. How World War II changed women's lives)


  • First Prize: Libby Sommer (My Year With Sammy)
  • Second Prize: Johanna Nicholls (Golden Hope)
  • Third Prize: Isolde Martyn (The Golden Widows)
  • Highly Commended. Johanna Nicholls (The Lace Balcony)


  • First Prize Cynthia Rowe (Floating Nest)
  • Second Prize:  Karen Throssell (Motherhood Statement)
  • Equal Third Prize:
  • Marilyn Peck (A Girl in the River)
  • Colleen Keating (A Call to Listen)


  • First Prize: 
Pamela Rushby (The Ratcatcher’s Daughter)
  • Second Prize:  
Pamela Rushby (Flora’s War)
  • Third Prize: 
Libby Hathorn (Eventual Poppy Day


  • First Prize: 
Susanne Gervay (Being Jack) 

  • Second Prize: 
Libby Hathorn (Outside, illustrated by Ritva Voutila)
  • Third Prize: 

Libby Hathorn (IncredibilIia, illustrated by Gaye Chapman)

2013 SWW Book Awards


Equal 1st Prize: 
    Carol Baxter (Captain Thunderbolt & His Lady)
    Dr Susan Steggall (A Most Generous Scholar)
  • 3rd Prize: Clio Calodoukas  (All Roads Lead to Shanghai)
  • Highly Commended:  Heather Bird  (I Hear You)
  • Highly Commended:  Colleen O’Sullivan  (Once A Day Dawn)


  • 1st Prize: Felicity Pulman (A Ring Through Time)
  • 2nd Prize: Susanne Gervay (Ships In The Field)
  • 3rd Prize:  Libby Hathorn (A Boy Like Me)


  • 1st Prize: Yve Louis  (A Door In The Forest)
  • 2nd Prize:  Dr Penelope Cottier (The Cancellation of Clouds)
  • 3rd Prize:  Brenda Saunders (Looking for Bullin Bullin)

2011 SWW Book Awards


  • 1st Prize: Lindsay Lewis & Sharyn Killens (The Inconvenient Child)
  • 2nd Prize: Dr Maria Hill (Diggers & Greeks)
  • 3rd Prize: Yvonne Louis  (A Brush with Mondrian) 

  • Highly Commended: Pam Bayfield  (Come with Me) 

  • Highly Commended: Beverley Earnshaw (Carss Park)


  • 1st Prize: Mary-Ellen Mullane  (Once on a Road)

  • Highly Commended: P S (Penelope) Cottier  (A Quiet Day) 

  • Commended: Dr Patricia Gaut (Sympathetic Vibrations)


  • 1st Prize: Susanne Gervay (Always Jack)

  • 2nd Prize: Cynthia Rowe (Bad Grass) 

  • 3rd Prize: Libby Hathorn  (I Love You Book ) 

  • Highly Commended: Wendy Blaxland (I Can Cook – series)


  • 1st Prize: Winifred Weir (Walking on Ashes) 

  • Highly Commended: Carolyn Gerrish (The View from the Moon) 

  • Commended: Libby Hathorn (Vietnam Reflections)
Go back