The Society sponsors the Abbie Clancy Award, named after Abigail Mary Clancy (1898-1984), one of the founders of the Society of Women Writers and a prominent early 20th-century journalist.

This bursary of $1,000 is awarded annually and is open to female honours and post-graduate students attending universities in New South Wales. Entrants for the Award must submit an abstract (300-500 words) of an unpublished research paper on the published or unpublished work(s) of fiction or non-fiction of an Australian woman writer or journalist.

For Information and Entry Form CLICK HERE

 The 2018 Abbie Clancy Award was presented to the winner at the Society’s Christmas Luncheon in December, 2018

2018 Abbie Clancy Award

Cheryl O’Byrne

2017 Abbie Clancy Award

Katrina Foster

2016 Abbie Clancy Award

Meg Brayshaw

2015 Abbie Clancy Award

Isobel Barrett Meyering

2013 Abbie Clancy Award was given to  joint winners:

Claire Timbs and Claire Nashar.

No award was given for the 2011. 

Go back