In conjunction with other state branches of the Society of Women Writers, this award is conferred every two years upon an Australian woman writer who, by her own written work, has made a distinguished and long-term contribution to Australian literature.

The Alice is a prestigious award for any author as it is awarded by a jury of fellow writers. Previous winners have included major names in Australian literature like Dame Mary Durack, Judith Wright, Ruth Park, Kylie Tennant, Kate Grenville and Brenda Niall. The bronze statuette is awarded for ‘an outstanding long-term contribution to Australian literature’.

- Sydney Morning Herald

The 2018 Alice Award will by hosted by the Victorian Society of Women Writers.

2016 winner:

Dr Clare Wright, Victoria.

2014 winner:

Libby Hathorn, New South Wales.

2012 winner:

Susanna de Vries OAM, from Queensland.

Go back