The Alice Literary Award is presented in the form of a trophy to ‘an Australian woman who has made a distinguished, long-term contribution to Australian literature’.

The winner is chosen after consultation with all state branches of the society in conjunction with other state branches of the Society of Women Writers.

The Alice is a prestigious award for any author as it is awarded by a jury of fellow writers. Previous winners have included major names in Australian literature like Dame Mary Durack, Judith Wright, Ruth Park, Kylie Tennant, Kate Grenville and Brenda Niall. The bronze statuette is awarded for ‘an outstanding long-term contribution to Australian literature.

- Sydney Morning Herald

The 2018 Alice Award was hosted by the Victorian Society of Women Writers.

2018 winner:

Sally Odgers

2016 winner:

Dr Clare Wright, Victoria

2014 winner:

Libby Hathorn, New South Wales

2012 winner:

Susanna de Vries OAM, from Queensland