Time to challenge yourself, dust off your writing skills, put pen to paper or fingers to keypads …

The Society’s biennial National Writing Competition is open to female writers who are Australian citizens or permanent residents, aged 18 years or over, members and non-members.  

Closing date is 6:00 pm Australian Eastern Standard Time on 30 June 2021.


Short Story – Fiction

Winner – $500
Highly Commended – $250
Commended – $100

Short Story – Non-Fiction

Winner – $500
Highly Commended – $250
Commended – $100


Winner – $300
Highly Commended – $200
Commended – $100

Winning entries willl also be considered for incusion in The Society’s centenary anthology to be published in 2025.

Fee per entry:

Short Story – Fiction and Non-Fiction:

   Members: $30
   Non-members:  $40


   Members:  $15 per poem or $40 for three
   Non-members:  $20 per poem

Receiving officers:

Short Story – Fiction:
Michele Bomford, 18 William Street, Bundanoon 2578  michele.cb@bigpond.com

Short Story – Non-Fiction:
Ann Beaumont, C/- GPO Box 1388, Sydney 2001  abeaumont6@bigpond.com

Rita Shaw, 10 Kemble Place, Bilgola Plateau 2107  rhinoservices@iinet.net.au


Please see the attached file for further details and Entry Form – 2021 National Writing Competition Entry Form


National Writing Competitions 2019 Results

Kathy Prokhovnik – A Day at the Beach (Fiction)
Joanne Ruppin – Night Reunion (Poetry)
Nicole Lenoir-Jourdan – Frothing (Non-Fiction)

Highly Commended:
Jean Flynn – Forty (Fiction)
Anne Carson – What if the lake … (Poetry)
Susan Steggall – Re-Carving an Identity (Non-Fiction)

Anna Bay – The Tamarillo Tree (Fiction)
Margaret Ruckert – Unconformity (Poetry)
Carmel Bendon – The Gift of a Book (Non-Fiction)


National Writing Competitions 2017 Results

The Society of Women Writers NSW Committee would like to congratulate the following winners:

National Non-Fiction Award for Essays and Articles 2017

  • First Prize - An Appetite for Awe - Anni Webster  
  • Second Prize - Pilbara Boots - Robyn Elliott
  • Third Prize - WB Yeats and Yours Truly - Megan Wallens                          
  • Highly Commended - You Are All Dreamers - Carol Middleton
  • Highly Commended - Slippery Side of the Street - Judith O'Connor
  • Highly Commended - Please Don't Tell - Joanne Ruppin

National Short Story Competition 2017

  • Short Story Competition 2017
  • First Prize - ‘Paper Nautilus’ - Fran Collings
  • Second Prize - ‘Traumeri’ – Paulette Gittins
  • Third Prize - ‘Rewind’ – Polly Jude

National Poetry Competition 2017

  • Equal First Prize - Persistence in Three Languages - Helen Thurloe   
  • Equal First Prize - Stille Nacht and Silent Night - Joanne Ruppin
  • Highly Commended - The Night Before the Truck - Susan Fealy
  • Highly Commended - Thomas Merton - Shane McCauley


Theme: Be Inspired by Giving Women a Voice

The Society of Women Writers NSW Committee would like to congratulate the following Winners:

National Non-Fiction Award for Essays and Articles 2015

  • First Prize - Pippa Kay "Breathtaking"
  • Second Prize - Carol Middleton "Dreaming of Freedom"
  • Third Prize - Pauline Harvey "The Doctor's Wife"
  • Highly Commended - Chystal Abidin "When you travel alone through foreign cities as a young woman"
  • Commended - Nicola West "The Fight"

National Poetry Competition 2015

  • First Prize - Cynthia Rowe "Union Rep Ruby"
  • Second Prize - Carolyn Alfonzetti "Canary Song"
  • Third Prize - Moira Kirkwood "Flowering"
  • Highly Commended - Gail Hennessy "Finding The Words"
  • Commended - Colleen Keating "In Search Of Hildegard Of Bingen"

National Short Story Competition 2015

  • First Prize - Michelle Reidy "This Is How A Voice Sounds"
  • Second Prize - Lynne Cook "No Words For It"
  • Third Prize - Erica Woolgar "Waiting For Mare"
  • Highly Commended - Judith O"Connor "Run Rabbit Run"
  • Commended - Bridget Mckern "Lady-In-Waiting"

The Biennial Book Awards for members of the Society of Women Writers NSW Inc will again be held in 2018.


Winners presented on September 11, 2013 at Dixson Room, State Library of NSW

  • FIRST PRIZE: Susan Fealy "The Hope Stone"
  • SECOND PRIZE: Dr Frances Olive "At the Temple"
  • THIRD PRIZE: Marilyn Peck "From My Bed on Dry Winter Mornings"
    Gillian Hunt "Heartland"
    Moira Kirkwood "Moto (artist to Genius)"
    Ali Jane Smith "Sestina After a Marriage"
    Lesley Walter "In Memoriam (of Vera Newsom)"
    Winifred Weir "Summer Is and Has Been"

SHORT STORY - 2013 Winners of the National Open Short Story Competition

Winners presented on October 9, 2013, at Dixson Room, State Library of NSW

  • First Prize: Sarah ENDACOTT "Shock-Shit"
  • Second Prize: Julie CHEVALIER "An Honour that I"d thought not of"
  • Third Prize: Claire AMAN "Wrangler"
    Julie KEARNEY: "Killing Him Softly"
    Suzanne GASKELL: "Beautiful Boys"
    Julie CHEVALIER: "Little Fires"

A. POETRY - Winners presented on September 12, 2012 at Dixson Room, State Library of NSW

  • First Prize: "We have one another now and again" by Winifred Weir
  • Second Prize: "At the Crossing" by Lesley Walter
  • Third Prize: "A Brief History of Fun" by Dr Penelope S Cottier

B. SHORT STORY COMPETITION - Winners presented on October 10, 2012 at Dixson Room, State Library of NSW

  • First Prize: "Beyond Walls" by Susan McCreery
  • Second Prize: "Caretaker Li and My Sanity Patch" By Meg Wallens
  • Third Prize: "Marked" by Heather Bird