Member Book Releases

Pip Griffin

Paperback 2023

Opus: a life with music is a stunning collection, beautifully written and withheld.
Libby Sommer

Through music, we can say what we didn’t even know we felt.
Ed Le Brocq.

What more powerful way to reflect on your journey of life than entwined with the memory of music. Exquisitely wrought, Opus gives us snapshots, sometimes softened, sometimes shocking but always honed and beautifully crafted, revealing a deep perception and intimacy as we have come to know of Pip Griffin’s poetry.
     Colleen Keating

Pip Griffin’s Opus is a gently written verse memoir of her childhood in New Zealand to her mature years in Australia. References to Chopin, Mahler, Gustav Holst, Elvis Presley and many others justify its subtitle, ‘a life with music’. Touches of sadness, including her partner’s death and her mother’s thwarted dreams, balance the collection’s positive tone. This is poetry to read over a few winter evenings by the fire or summer afternoons in the shade of a tree.
     Norm Neill

ISBN 978 1 76109 191 9, $22.50 (incl. GST
Order at, from your preferred bookseller or from the author $20.00 plus postage.

Opus is Pip Griffin’s eighth poetry book. Her poetry includes Virginia & Katherine: The Secret Diaries (Pohutukawa Press 2022), Winner, Society of Women Writers NSW Book Awards (poetry) 2022; Margaret Caro, the extraordinary life of a pioneering dentist (Pohutukawa Press 2020) Highly Commended, Society of Women Writers NSW Book Awards (poetry) 2020; Mood Indigo (Picaro Poets 2019) with Colleen Keating and The Climb Back: poems for Ted (Ginninderra Press 2021).